Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » Publications » Training Newsletter » Team News

ITDI Introduces New Quality Management System

Kirkpatrick evaluation model

Over the past year, the ITDI team has been working diligently to implement a new Quality Management System (QMS) to ensure that the quality of our programs remains consistent across the board.

The focus will be on ensuring that our training programs deliver not only knowledge and skills, but that they are applied in ways that deliver positive real-world results for our clients. To this end, we have chosen to follow the Kirkpatrick Model, a globally respected academic standard which consists of four levels of quality assurance:

   1. Trainee satisfaction (reaction)
   2. Knowledge transfer (learning)
   3. Knowledge applied on the job (behavior)
   4. Return on investment (results)

Levels 1 and 2 were implemented in 2014 and levels 3 and 4 are to be implemented this year.

The primary means of measuring the first two levels of the Kirkpatrick Model is through discussion with participants and post course surveys, which are used to gain insight into participants’ overall impression of the course from content and presentation through to the instructor. These first two levels have already been implemented across ITDI’s entire 300+ course offering last year due to the hard work and commitment of our staff. For years, 92% of ITDI’s participant’s indicate in our post-course surveys that they would recommend our courses to their colleagues. Although impressive, we aim to improve on that rating.

The next levels (3 and 4), which will be implemented this year, go deeper than the first two. They look at how participants apply the knowledge gleaned from the course to their everyday jobs and assess the resulting Return on Investment (ROI) to their organization. Level 3 will first be applied to our In-Company courses, starting with a pilot that is to be rolled out with Etihad Airways whose employees are taking our Airline Revenue Management course. We are currently in discussions with ICAO as to the methodology we will apply.

ISO 9001:2008 certification

In addition to the implementation of a new QMS to our courses, ITDI is implementing a QMS in our internal processes with the aim to have all partners (ATC, ATS and RTP) and Distance Learning programs ISO certified by the end of 2015. We will then expand to other areas, including Instructor-Led operations, Professional Designations with the aim to achieve full ISO 9001:2008 certification by 2016.

To become ISO certified, organizations must undergo rigorous procedures and audits. ISO 9001:2008 sets out the criteria for a quality management system and is the only standard in the family that can be certified. It is implemented by over one million companies and organizations in over 170 countries.

This standard is based on a number of quality management principles including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continual improvement. Using ISO 9001:2008 helps ensure that customers get consistent, good quality products and services, which in turn brings many business benefits.

Checking that the system works is a vital part of ISO 9001:2008. An organization must perform internal audits to check how its quality management system is working. ITDI’s first audit is to take place in Q2 of this year.

We are proud of the progress we have made and hope that you will be even more pleased with the service we provide this year and in years to come. We look forward to sharing more news with you on this important initiative in future editions of the IATA Training Newsletter.


Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2015. All rights reserved.