Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » Programs » Safety » Audits » IOSA » Applicability of IOSA Standards & Recommended Practices

Applicability of IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices

The IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices ISARPs, as published in the ISM, are applicable only to an operator that operates a minimum (i.e. one or more) two-pilot, multi-engine aircraft that have a maximum certificated takeoff mass in excess of 5,700 kg (12,566 lb) for the conduct of:

  • Commercial passenger flights with or without cabin crew
  • Commercial cargo flights with or without the carriage of supernumeraries or cargo attendants

ISARPs may not be applied or used for the Audit of an operator that

  • Does not operate a minimum of one aircraft as specified above, or
  • Has all aircraft operations conducted by another operator.¬†

ISARPs are currently not suitable for and may not be used for the audit of:

  • Aircraft that have a maximum certificated takeoff mass of 5,700 kg (12,566 lb) or less
  • Single engine aircraft operations
  • Single pilot aircraft operations
  • Helicopter operations
  • Seaplane operations

During an audit, ISARPs are applied only to those aircraft that are of the type authorized in the Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and utilized in commercial passenger and/or cargo operations. Other owned or leased aircraft that are not of the type authorized in the AOC and/or not utilized in commercial air transport operations, will not be evaluated during an audit as they are considered outside the scope of IOSA. However, the existence of such aircraft will be referenced with an explanation in the IOSA Audit Report.

Request an IOSA audit report

If you would like to access an IOSA Audit Report, kindly complete the request form (doc) and return it to the IOSA team


Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2015. All rights reserved.