Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » Programs » Work Groups » e-AWB Advisory Group

e-AWB Advisory Group

The e-AWB Advisory Group (EAWBAG) aims to facilitate the adoption of electronic Air Waybill (e-AWB) and support the industry to acheive 100% e-AWB on trade-lanes governed by MP4 (Montreal Protocol 4) or MC99 (Montreal Convention 1999).


This group was first established in 2008 as a Task Force to work on the  e-AWB and draft the Recommended Practice 1670 (RP1670) that allows the replacement of the paper Master Air Waybill by the e-AWB.



The primary objectives of EAWBAG are as follows:

Provide recommendations on enhancements to the e-AWB related IATA resolutions and recommended practices as well as e-AWB related Cargo electronic messages (Cargo-IMP and Cargo-XML);

Provide regular updates to the Cargo Committee as well as recommendations on revised e-AWB roll out approach and targets as needed.

EAWBAG Actions

  • Act as expertise center for any question related to e-AWB
  • Draft a multilateral e-AWB agreement and pilot its implementation
  • Recommend a solution to identify e-AWB shipments
  • Support the industry to achieve 100% e-AWB
  • Follow-up on e-AWB adoption worldwide
  • Maintain an updated list of import Customs in MC99 and MP4 countries that accept the e-AWB
  • Maintain a list of import Customs in non MC99 and non MP4 countries that accept plain paper/laser printed paper AWB
  • Coordinate with the other working groups: e-freight Central Action Group, Customs Advisory Group, Cargo Operations Advisory Group
  • Communicate regularly to the Cargo Committee the progress made in increasing e-AWB adoption worldwide
  • Develop additional supporting materials and recommendations as needed


The EAWBAG is composed by airlines' and freight forwarders' representatives. Other observers from industry e.g. ground handlers and IATA Strategic Partners may attend the EAWBAG meetings upon concurrence of the Secretary.

e-AWB Advisory Group Terms of Reference v2.2 (pdf)




Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2015. All rights reserved.