Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » About Us » IATA by Region » The Americas » Safety in the Americas
  • Print this page
  • Share this page

Safety in the Americas

Safety is the industry’s top priority. IATA continues to work with airlines and industry partners in raising standards and implementing best practice. The Six-point Safety Program ties the various safety initiatives together.

 In 2012, the Western-built jet hull loss rate per million sectors for operators based in Latin America and the Caribbean was 0.42 and 0.00 in North America.

 Safety - our number 1 priority IATA and the Latin American and Caribbean Air Transport Association (ALTA) have created a safety trend sharing program. Through this program, airlines representing over 80% of all the flight in LATAM/CAR region are sharing data directly from their planes as well as their pilot, maintenance and cabin crew reports. This information will help develop data driven projects to constantly improve and monitor safety in the region

Improving safety with the entire aviation community

The Regional Aviation Safety Group—Pan America (RASG-PA) is a good example of cooperation. It brings together IATA, ALTA, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), Airbus, Boeing, states and others to work on a harmonized safety agenda for the region. Its effective work was recently recognized by the Flight Safety Foundation with a lifetime achievement award.

In the United States, IATA participates in the Commercial Aviation Safety Team (CAST), whose effective and proven leadership style of sharing and harmonizing power, decisions and objectives between government and industry was used as a model for establishing RASG-PA at a regional level. This group, established in 1997, leads the world´s most advanced safety programs and gathers the best safety experts from the region.

Safety audits

The IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA) plays an important role in improving safety in the region. No IOSA-registered carriers in the region had a fatal accident in over five years. The strong safety performance of IOSA carriers is proof to governments that incorporating IOSA into their programs has a positive impact on safety.

  • North America: 43 IOSA registered airlines
  • Latin America & the Caribbean: 45 IOSA registered airlines

The region is also making big steps in the adoption by airports and certification by Ground Service Providers (GSPs) of IATA´s Safety Audit for Ground Operators (ISAGO). ISAGO is a certification program designed to improve safety and quality in airport ramp operations.


Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2015. All rights reserved.