Need Help?


CBTA Provider accreditation is given to organizations that offer dangerous goods training to clients within a specific territory or jurisdiction and for specific standardized well-defined job functions in accordance with the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations – Appendix H.6.

The CBTA Provider accreditation allows training organizations to assess and improve their dangerous goods training and assessment material, course module and content for specific standardized well-defined operational job functions.

Need Help?

It provides organizations that offer training to clients with the opportunity to acquire CBTA Provider accreditation from IATA, attesting that their training course is benchmarked against and meets IATA's Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR) training provisions for specific well-defined job functions.

Organizations with CBTA Provider accreditation have the opportunity to sell accredited competency-based dangerous goods training and assessment to clients within a specific territory or jurisdiction. CBTA Providers will be able to issue internationally recognized qualifications with co-branded IATA course certificates for learners that successfully completed an accredited training course.

The benefits of the CBTA Provider accreditation:

  • Receive international recognition to offer dangerous goods training within a specific territory or jurisdiction and for specific well-defined operational job functions 
  • Generate revenues through the selling of a standardized well-defined training course 
  • Accredited dangerous goods courses in a variety of delivery methods (e-learning, Classroom, LIVE virtual classroom, blended, etc.) 
  • Provide high-quality and internationally recognized training to clients and students 
  • Issuance of co-branded IATA certificates to students who successfully complete the accredited training course
  • Permission to use the CBTA Provider logo for specified promotions associate with the accredited training course
  • Receive the Annual DGR Regulatory Update LIVE virtual classroom course (1 day) for approved and active Instructors on the significant changes of the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations

CBTA Provider are required to go through an assessment process


IATA strives to achieve standardization and uniformity in the scope, depth and quality of the assessments conducted. To ensure that all training units are assessed in a consistent and objective manner, standardized assessment checklists and criteria have been developed to guide the assessor and the training unit through the assessment process.

The assessment criteria are based on two reference documents, including best practices for course design, development, facilitation and evaluation.

  • IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR) – Appendix H;
  • CBTA Centers Assessment Checklist.

The IATA assessment may include, but is not limited to, the review of the training unit’s management system, policies, standards and procedures, training program, training plan, quality assurance program, training methods, training materials, training records, training personnel, facilities and technology for training, eLearning capability and systems, simulators, etc.

The assessment covers the following critical areas.

  1.  Organization
  2.  Training Delivery
  3.  Facilities and Technology
  4.  Personnel
  5.  Training Records
  6.  Quality System
  7.  Training Modules and Content

Three distinct phases of the assessment


The CBTA Centers program recognizes an organization through an assessment process. Applicants must successfully pass a CBTA Centers assessment, conducted by an IATA-qualified assessor to determine compliance of the organization with the criteria set forth in the CBTA Centers Assessment Checklist.

IATA will apply the following approach, which is an integral element of the assessment process:

  1. Self-assessment
    IATA will provide the training unit with the Assessment Checklist to be answered by the training unit and provide as an attachment all relevant documentation and evidence for reference including course materials.
  2. Assessment
    Remotely using a teleconferencing system. This phase will involve a remote assessment through a teleconferencing system by an IATA-qualified assessor. During this phase, the assessor will review the material to ensure that they match the description received and will observe that the current operations of the training unit are conducted along the same lines as described in the various documents provided during the self-assessment phase. Comprehensive feedback will be provided, including a gap analysis and a detailed list of the specific areas of improvement.
  3. Validation
    The validation phase encompasses all activities following the assessment, leading to the granting of the accreditation including the follow-up of the Corrective Action Plan (CAP) if any, and its implementation. The accreditation shall remain in effect for a period of twenty-four (24) months from the date it is rendered. Re-assessment (re-accreditation)


Re-assessment will take place every twenty-four (24) months. If the training unit continues to meet the requirements, IATA will issue a new Certificate of Accreditation for another twenty-four (24) months.

CBTA Provider accreditation


Check the list of companies that have achieved CBTA Provider certification in the CBTA Certified Companies Registry and are accredited to sell dangerous goods training and assessment for specific well-defined job functions. 

Are you interested in becoming accredited?


Are you one of the following (this list is not limited), and wanting to develop capacity and resources for dangerous goods training programs based on a Competency-based Training and Assessment approach to be in compliance with international and industry standards?

  • Training unit of airlines, airports, ground handling agents, freight forwarders and shippers.
  • Training organizations and providers involved in any specialized aviation safety-related and dangerous goods training.