Aviation English Language Solution - Assessment


Does your staff meet the ICAO Aviation English Level 4 operational standard?

Developed in partnership with Berlitz Languages, Inc., this comprehensive assessment service lets you easily determine your staff’s ICAO Aviation English proficiency level and select the right training program to bring them to level 4 proficiency. The assessment evaluates candidates against each of the six language proficiency criteria so that further training is concentrated on areas where needed. As part of the complete IATA-Berlitz Aviation English Language Solution package, this assessment is free of charge for candidates that follow the IATA-Berlitz Aviation English training program.

Course code: TAPH-13

How to register

There are no scheduled classes at the moment

What you will learn

Use this assessment service to:

  • Obtain a detailed report on the language proficiency level of your staff members
  • Receive a Training Action Plan that maps out the training needed to bring your staff to Level 4 proficiency or higher
  • Plan your Aviation English language training and reassessment

How the assessment works

The assessment evaluates all six ICAO English language proficiency criteria:

  • Pronunciation
  • Fluency
  • Structure
  • Vocabulary
  • Comprehension
  • Interaction

Candidates are evaluated individually by a qualified, native English-speaker – usually over the phone - and scored on a rating scale, starting from Level 1 (pre-elementary) to Level 6 (expert). The lowest score obtained out of the six evaluation criteria is the level assigned to the candidate.

Level 4 (operational) language proficiency is the minimum requirement for pilots and air traffic control officers, and additional training is mandatory for candidates with a Level 3 rating or lower. Candidates with a Level 4, 5 or 6 rating do not require any training, only periodic assessment.

Once all assessments are complete, you will receive a detailed Summary Report that includes individualized information for each staff member evaluated:

  • Score on each of the six ICAO proficiency levels
  • Overall ICAO proficiency rating
  • Rater's comments pertaining to the assessment
  • Training recommendations when the Level 4 requirement is not met

Who should attend

First-time assessment

An assessment for ICAO Level 4 proficiency is a requirement for all:

  • Airline, charter, private and other fixed-wing and helicopter pilots who fly internationally
  • Air Traffic Control Officers (ATCOs) and assistants
  • Those using air-ground voice communications for international air operations


Pilots and air traffic control officers already rated at Level 4 must be reassessed every three years; level 5 pilots and control officers, every six years.

Need Help?

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies for advertising purposes. Please see our privacy policy and cookies help page for complete information.