Instructional Techniques for DGR - Categories 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 (Classroom, 5 days)

Did you know that in the past 3 years, 131 participants from 22 countries have taken this course with IATA?


This course will teach you how to design and deliver dangerous goods training by incorporating active learning to overcome technical challenges of the subject. Learn the techniques and strategies to plan a comprehensive dangerous goods training program, use sequence learning activities to ensure an effective mix and flow, and conclude a training session with an emphasis on applying the learning back on the job. During the course you will practice a variety of core techniques and strategies to lead adult learning, instructional design and facilitation techniques.

This course is available at IATA Training Centers and Regional Training Partner locations, and on-demand as in-house training.

Course code: TCGH-02

Course format

  • This classroom course provides 5 days (40 hours) of instruction delivered by an official IATA Instructor.
  • Student performance will be based on an assessment which will involve 2 examinations - DGR and Instructional Techniques


  • Participants must hold a valid DGR certificate for categories 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12 and have at least 5 years working experience in hazardous materials and safety, or cargo operations
  • Recommended level is Intermediate and Advanced
  • The recommended level of language proficiency is ICAO Operational Level 4 for courses in English or the equivalent level for other languages.

Note: A mandatory Dangerous Goods Regulations exam for categories 4,5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 will be given to assess technical competence.

How to register

Next class

Instructional Techniques for DGR - Categories 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 (Classroom, 5 days)

Singapore, Singapore (IATA)
6 - 10 December, 2021
Register before 05 Sep, 2021 to take advantage of the 20% Early Bird discount. The price below includes this discount.
Please register by 15 Nov
All prices are before tax. Class no: 132975 English
Dev. Nations
USD 1,736
USD 2,232
USD 2,480

What you will learn

Upon completing this course you will be able to:

  • Apply adult learning principles
  • Write training objectives and formulate test questions for a target group
  • Develop DGR training program using instructional design techniques
  • Develop, implement and execute an effective instructional plan
  • Apply effective facilitation techniques
  • Develop DGR training program using instructional design techniques
  • Prepare visual aids required for the training unit
  • Facilitate learning

Course content

  • Adult learning theory and learner differences
  • Instructional design
  • Facilitation techniques
  • Media and visual aids
  • Classroom management

Download the Outline

Please come prepared with the following materials:

  • Calculator: This course involves calculation exercises, please bring a calculator.
  • Laptop: You will create a teaching portfolio as a class project, please bring your laptop.

Supporting Materials

  • A complementary copy of the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations Manual and Dangerous Goods Regulations Training Workbooks 2, 3, 4, & 5 will be provided with the course material.

Who should attend

This course is recommended for:

  • Dangerous Goods instructors for categories 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 as per Table 1.5.A of the IATA DGR
  • Airline training specialists and managers
  • Instructional designers

Training specialists for categories 1, 2, 3 and 6 should consider the Professional Skills for DGR Instructors.

Certificate awarded

An IATA Certificate of Completion is awarded to participants obtaining a grade of 80% or higher on all exercises and exams. A special distinction is awarded to participants obtaining a grade of 90% or higher.

Need Help?

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies for advertising purposes. Please see our privacy policy and cookies help page for complete information.