Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » Programs » Workgroups » Airport Services Committee (ASC)
  • Print this page
  • Share this page

Airport Services Committee (ASC)

The Airport Services Committee (ASC) develops and maintains standards and procedures for the handling of passengers and baggage at airports, including all forms and regulations. It is also responsible for IATA's Tutorial Ground Handling Standards, published separately in the IATA Airport Handling Manual.

The ASC provides overall policy direction and general management for all of IATA's airport services activities including the financial performance of its products and services. Airport standards and procedures are published in the IATA Airport Handling Manual. The ASC is also active in the development of industry procedures for passenger and baggage security, departure control and message standards.

Airline membership consists of multi-disciplinary experts specialising in passenger and baggage service, departure control systems (DCS), and many ground handling activities. ASC can meet jointly with its counterpart, the ATA group, where appropriate. 


The Airport Services Committee consists of 18 formally elected IATA Members. Currently these are:

  • Aer Lingus
  • Air Canada
  • Air France
  • Alitalia
  • American Airlines
  • Austrian Airlines
  • British Airways
  • Delta Airlines
  • El Al
  • Iberia Airlines
  • Japan Airlines
  • KLM
  • Lufthansa Airlines
  • Northwest Airlines
  • Qantas
  • United Airlines
  • US Airways
  • Varig Airlines.

Participation in Airport Services Activities is open to all IATA carriers.



Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2016. All rights reserved.