Skip to main content

Test Home
You & IATA


You are here: Home » Programs » Safety


Globally, there were 29.6 million commercial Western-built jet (WBJ) flights in 2012 and six hull-loss accidents. This equates to a hull-loss rate of 0.20 per million flights, or one hull loss for every five million flights. This is the lowest rate in aviation’s history and a 46% improvement over the rate in 2011, which was itself a record year for aviation safety.

Six-Point Safety Strategy

Established in close cooperation with the member airlines and Strategic Partners through the IATA Safety Group (SG) and the Operations Committee (OPC) in 2013, the revised Six Point Safety Strategy is a comprehensive approach to identify organizational, operational and emerging safety issues. The Strategy focuses in six key areas:

6 Point Safety Program


Reduce Operational Risk

The area of reducing operational risks comprises safety issues related to:

Enhance Quality and Compliance

Another cornerstone of the approach to enhancing aviation safety is the IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA), an internationally recognized program that is implemented consistently throughout the industry. The revised Six-Point Safety Strategy will also cover Oversight of Third Party Service Providers in conformance with ICAO Safety Management System (SMS) framework requirements.

Advocate for Improved Aviation Infrastructure

IATA Safety will continuously promote improved ATM infrastructure related to:

  • Phasing out NDB/VOR approaches and accelerating the implementation of approaches with vertical guidance (APV)
  • Airport (runway & ramp infrastructure)
  • Air Navigation harmonization and standardization 

Support Consistent Implementation of Safety Management System

Industry has been implementing the Safety Management System (SMS) framework elements for a number of years. The Six-Point Safety Strategy will support consistent implementation of SMS in

  • Safety performance monitoring
  • Analysis and dissemination of information
  • Safety promotion and facilitation

Support Effective Recruitment and Training

This section addresses: 

The IATA Training and Qualification Initiative (ITQI) seeks to modernize and harmonize the training of existing and future generations of pilots and maintenance technicians by focusing on competency and responding to evolving flight deck operational procedures needs.

IATA also offers several classroom and in-company training courses. The portfolio includes safety courses dedicated to airlines as well as diploma programs focused on safety management, workplace safety, and best practice for civil aviation.

Identify and Address Emerging Safety Issues

The Six-Point Safety Strategy comprises identifying and addressing safety issues related to:

Global Aviation Data Management program

IATA Safety Data Management and Analysis activities are a part of IATA's revised Six-point Safety Strategy and are available via the Global Aviation Data Management (GADM) program.

The GADM provides IATA members and other eligible industry member with a wealth of information and acts as a gateway to the multiple sources and areas of aircraft operations.

IATA's GADM program now includes information from over 470 different organizations.  Over 90% of IATA members are contributing to at least one of GADM databases.


Additional information

© International Air Transport Association (IATA) 2014. All rights reserved.