Istanbul - The International Air Transport Association (IATA) recognised the outstanding achievements of Airways New Zealand, Incheon International Airport and Tampa International Airport with IATA’s Eagle Awards.

The Eagle Awards honour airports and air navigation service providers (ANSPs) for outstanding performance in customer satisfaction, cost efficiency and continuous improvement. The awards were presented at IATA's 64th Annual General Meeting and World Air Transport Summit taking place in Istanbul, Turkey. They are based on the recommendations of the independent Eagle Awards Panel.

"Today's winners have one thing in common. They put the customer first, delivering value for money. Airlines and our customers pay a big bill for infrastructure, US$43.5 billion a year, or 11% of our costs. So it is critical that airports and ANSPs are transparent and consult with their customers to achieve both cost efficiency and high service standards. I congratulate Airways New Zealand, Incheon International Airport and Tampa International Airport for their great achievements," said Giovanni Bisignani, IATA's Director General and CEO.

Airways New Zealand focuses on the needs of its customers. Not just within its own area but also in seeking regional solutions with neighbouring ANSPs. This is the sort of joined-up thinking that airline customers appreciate and need. Airways New Zealand sets an excellent example for other ANSPs to follow,” said Bisignani. “Airways New Zealand also has a good consultation process and its charges are reasonable. It has not increased its charges for the past 10 years and will hold them for at least another two. Airways New Zealand is delivering global improvements in route optimisation, operational efficiency, safety and cost efficiency.”

Incheon International Airport has led the industry in operational excellence, customer service and cost-efficiency improvements. It had the good sense to listen to its customers to agree a reduction in charges,” said Bisignani. In 2007, Incheon proposed significant increases in charges but after a successful consultation process, a 3-year pricing agreement was reached that resulted in a 10% reduction in landing charges for the duration of the agreement and cost savings of US$75 million for airlines. “Incheon adopted a proactive and successful approach to a difficult issue. They are a shining example for other airports to follow,” Bisignani added.

Tampa International Airport is one of the best examples of an airport that consults effectively with its customers. It has delivered results in cost per passenger, rates and charges,” Bisignani said. Since the late 1990s, the airport has spent more than US$1 billion in renovations, construction, and capital improvements, while keeping down the average airline cost per departing passenger. This cost has decreased steadily from US$5.32 in 1995 to US$4.26 in the last 2 years.

Honourable Mention: IATA gave an honourable mention for “most improving” provider to Papua New Guinea Air Services Limited, which was recognised for the very significant improvements that have been achieved in governance, financial and operational terms in the past three years.

"Congratulations to all the Eagle Award winners. You continue to set the standards for performance, cost efficiency and continuous improvements for others to achieve," said Bisignani.

Notes for editors:

1. Dr Assad Kotaite, Chairman of the independent Eagle Awards Panel, presented the Eagle Awards at IATA's 64th Annual General Meeting and World Air Transport Summit in Istanbul on 2 June 2008.

2. In his speech Dr. Kotaite said that the IATA Eagle Awards were highly-prized recognitions of airports and air navigation service providers who offer not only excellent service but strive towards better cost efficiency and continuous improvement. In 2008 the Panel wanted not only to recognise good performance but also to encourage it. It therefore considered nominees who could be considered as the “most improving” or “most improved” airports and ANSPs, particularly the smaller and medium-sized ones. The panel also considered each nominee in the specific context of its region, not just on a global comparison.

3. Previous Eagle Award Winners are:

Year Airport Air Navigation Service Provider
2007 Vancouver Airport Authority DGAC Chile
2006 Manchester Airport LFV of Sweden
2005 Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore
Brisbane International Airport
AirServices Australia
2004 San Francisco International Airport
2003 Athens International Airport
Melbourne Airport
Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore
Airways Corporation of New Zealand
Estonian Air Navigation Services
The General Civil Aviation Authority
of the United Arab Emirates
2002 The State of Hawaii Airports System
Airport Authority of Hong Kong
Cyprus Airports
Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore
2001 Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore NAVCANADA
2000 Manchester Airport plc DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung
1999 Dallas Fort Worth International Airport AirServices Australia
1998 BAA plc Irish Aviation Authority