The International Air Transport Association (IATA) today announced the dawn of a new era for the air cargo supply chain in Chinese Taipei. IATA e-freight went live in Chinese Taipei on 3 November 2009, and is operational at Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport and Kaohsiung International Airport.

IATA e-freight is one of the Simplifying the Business projects that improve service and cut costs. It aims to take the paper out of the air cargo supply chain. Facilitated by IATA, the project is an industry-wide initiative involving carriers, freight forwarders, ground handlers, shippers and customs authorities. IATA e-freight effectively eliminates the need to send 13 core paper documents with air cargo shipments, hence streamlining processes, improving speed and reliability and cutting costs.

The Chinese Taipei IATA e-freight implementation team is led by the Association of Airfreight Forwarding & Logistics, China Airlines and EVA Air. The team started work in August 2009 and delivered IATA e-freight ahead of schedule. Chinese Taipei is the 22nd e-freight location worldwide to deliver paper-free cargo.

The target is to implement e-freight in 44 countries by the end of 2010, representing more than 80% of global air-freight volumes. These countries all have the appropriate international treaties and high level customs framework in place to qualify for IATA e-freight.

IATA e-freight is also operational in Australia, Canada, Denmark, Dubai, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States and Switzerland. The industry has set a deadline of the end of 2010 for the implementation of e-freight where feasible.

Notes for Editors

The Chinese Taipei e-freight implementation team comprises of the following participants:

  • Airlines
    • China Airlines
    • EVA Air
    • Cathay Pacific Airways
    • Singapore Airlines
    • Cargolux
  • Government Agencies
    • Chinese Taipei Customs
    • Ministry of Transport and Communications
  • Forwarders
    • NNR Global Logistics
    • Mantraco
    • Schenker
    • Hecny Group
    • Dimerco Express
    • DHL Global Forwarding
    • The Association of Airfreight Forwarding & Logistics
  • Ground Handler/Warehouse Operators
    • TACT Logistics
    • Evergreen Air Cargo Services
    • Farglory Free Trade Zone
    • Ever Terminal
  • System Providers
    • Tradevan

For more information, please contact:
Albert Tjoeng
Manager Corporate Communications
Asia Pacific
Tel : +65 64992286