Safety Management Systems (SMS) Executive Workshop (classroom)



Did you know that in the past 4 years, 2 participants from 1 countries have taken this course with IATA?

About the course

0.5-day (4 hours) classroom course

IATA Safety Management Systems (SMS) Executive Workshop aviation training course

In this half-day executive workshop on safety management systems (SMS), learn how to demystify ICAO/EASA Safety Management Systems. You will explore key regulatory aspects and safety management principles and the key role that they play in accident prevention and related human factors.

Download the Outline

Course Code: TALS-80

Course format


  • Recommended level is Entry-level and Intermediate.
  • The recommended level of language proficiency is ICAO Operational Level 4 for courses in English or the equivalent level for other languages.

How to register

In-house training

To arrange in-house training for your company, please complete the in-house training request form or contact the Training Specialist in your region.

There are no scheduled classes at the moment

What you will learn

Upon completing this course you will be able to:

  • Recognize the key safety issues in aviation
  • Discuss the basics of current safety programs
  • Recognize the main theories on accident causation and prevention related to enterprise risk management programs
  • Know how accidents can be prevented using evidence and best practices
  • Relate the importance of operating an SMS as required by EASA and ICAO
  • Build a sustainable framework that balances production and protection

Course content

The key topics that are covered during this course include:

  • SMS course introduction
  • Systematized safety management
  • Regulatory aspects
  • Responsibilities and accountabilities
  • The Human element

Who should attend

This course is recommended for:

  • Corporate, executive staff from airlines and airports
  • Airline board members (existing and new appointees)

Certificate awarded

An IATA Certificate of Completion is awarded to participants obtaining a grade of 70% or higher on an assessment. A special distinction is awarded to participants obtaining a grade of 90% or higher.

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies for advertising purposes. Please see our privacy policy and cookies policy for complete information.