Need Help?

There are many benefits for airlines to become IOSA-registered, see About IOSA.

Need Help?


The IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices (ISARPs), as published in the IOSA Standard Manual (ISM), are applicable only to an operator that operates a minimum (i.e. one or more) two-pilot, multi-engine aircraft that have a maximum certificated takeoff mass in excess of 5,700 kg (12,566 lb) for the conduct of:

  • Commercial passenger flights with or without cabin crew
  • Commercial cargo flights with or without the carriage of supernumeraries or cargo attendants

ISARPs may not be applied or used for the Audit of an operator that

  • Does not operate a minimum of one aircraft as specified above, or
  • Has all aircraft operations conducted by another operator.

ISARPs are currently not suitable for and may not be used for the audit of

  • Aircraft that have a maximum certificated takeoff mass of 5,700 kg (12,566 lb) or less
  • Single engine aircraft operations
  • Single pilot aircraft operations
  • Helicopter operations
  • Seaplane operations

During an audit, ISARPs are applied only to those aircraft that are of the type authorized in the Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and utilized in commercial passenger and/or cargo operations. Other owned or leased aircraft that are not of the type authorized in the AOC and/or not utilized in commercial air transport operations, will not be evaluated during an audit as they are considered outside the scope of IOSA. However, the existence of such aircraft will be referenced with an explanation in the IOSA Audit Report.

First Step: Plan your Initial IOSA Audit

To become an IOSA registered operator, please follow the below steps to complete your application:

  • Download the IOSA Standards Manual (ISM) from IOSA documentation and familiarize the operations personnel with the IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices.
  • Complete the Initial IOSA Application form (docx) and send it to The IOSA Team will contact you for the next steps.*


Integrate IOSA into your systems with IOSA XML

ISM is available in a range of XML formats to integrate into your audit (AMS), quality (QMS), safety (SMS) and content (CMS) management systems. While you look after safety, your software supplier integrates for your saving you time and money. The ISM XML is available in two modules:

  • IOSA XML X-Ref Module: includes IOSA regulatory cross-reference from EASA, FAA and ICAO

> More information about IOSA Standards Manual XML

Accredited Audit Organizations

IOSA Audit Organizations are formally accredited by IATA to conduct IOSA audits. Each organization must use approved IOSA Auditors that have all met stringent IOSA training and qualification standards. AOs that are currently accredited are:

For more information e-mail the IOSA Program Office

Registration Renewal Audit

Before the end of the IOSA registration validity period, it is important to reschedule and successfully complete a Registration Renewal Audit:

  1. Download the IOSA Standards Manual (ISM) and familiarize the operations personnel with the updated IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices
  2. Select an Audit Organization and undergo the audit
  3. Closing the audit: upon successful completion, the validity period on the IOSA Registry will be extended for two more years.