IOSA Internal Auditor (IIA) Advanced Diploma



About the diploma

6 classroom courses to be completed in 4 years

IATA IOSA Internal Auditor (IIA) Advanced Diploma aviation training course

Become an expert in Internal Auditing for IOSA (IATA Operational Safety Audit) with this advanced diploma program. Throughout this program, delve deep into the intricacies of designing, implementing and perpetually enhancing the effectiveness of Safety Management Systems (SMS) and Quality Management Systems (QMS). Acquire a profound understanding of the methodologies essential to meet and exceed the stringent benchmarks outlined by the IOSA Standards and Recommended Practices (ISARPs). Each course is meticulously curated to provide a blend of theoretical knowledge and practical application. Gain insights into the nuances of auditing procedures specific to IOSA, equipping yourself with the skills to conduct rigorous internal audits effectively. Upon completion, you'll emerge as a proficient IOSA Internal Auditor, capable of ensuring compliance with international standards and driving continuous improvements within SMS and QMS frameworks.

Download the Outline

Course code: DIPL-143

What you will learn

Upon completion of this diploma you will be able to:

  • Implement and operate a successfully tailored SMS and QMS for your organization
  • Refine your skills in planning, managing and lead audit activities
  • Manage and continuously improve your internal audit program using IOSA Risk Based methodology

Key Topics

The key topics that are covered in this diploma include:
  • IOSA Risk-based methodology
  • Audit activities
  • Auditor training curriculum
  • Audit methodology
  • Safety Management Systems (SMS)
  • Quality management Systems (QMS)


The recommended level of language proficiency is ICAO Operational Level 4 or the equivalent for courses held in languages other than English.

Recommended level

  • Advanced

Who should attend

  • Executive and senior compliance managers
  • Quality managers
  • Internal auditor


A passing mark of 70% is required on all assignments and exams. A special distinction is awarded to candidates who obtain a distinction in all, or all but one, of all course exams and assignments that make up this Diploma.

How to obtain your diploma

  1. Complete all the required courses and your choice of elective courses within 4 years.
  2. Please contact us on our Customer Portal to request your diploma, stating the title of the diploma you are applying for and the list of courses you completed for that diploma.
  3. IATA Training will issue your diploma upon verification of your eligibility.

To receive the diploma candidates must complete

  • 5 Required courses
  • 1 Elective courses

Required courses

Elective courses

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies for advertising purposes. Please see our privacy policy and cookies policy for complete information.